Wisconsin to Crack Down on Auto Insurance Violators

Frustrated driver looking out windowState law enforcement officials in Wisconsin are beginning to punish those who are not yet abiding by the state’s new mandatory car insurance law.

Wisconsin Insurance Commissioner Sean Dilweg announced earlier this year that all motorists in the state must obtain liability coverage by June 1, 2010, though motorists were given a 90-day grace period to come into compliance with the new requirement.

In Eau Claire County, nearly 400 motorists have received warnings and one ticket has been issued by state police thus far for lack of coverage, according to ABC affiliate WQOW. More than 1,500 motorists have received a warning or ticket for not having proof of insurance on hand.

Those found driving a motor vehicle without Wisconsin car insurance may face a fine of up to $500. Failure to show proof of car insurance when pulled over may result in a $10 fine.

“Fortunately, Wisconsin has a very competitive auto insurance marketplace with over 200 insurance companies doing business here,” Dilweg previously said in a statement. “Someone looking for coverage should be able to find the insurance they need and get covered almost immediately.”

About John Pirro
John Pirro is a licensed fire and casualty insurance agent specializing in various aspects of the auto insurance industry. He worked in the auto body repair industry before taking a reporting position at Online Auto Insurance News.

No comments yet.

Comment on this article