More State Texting Bans May Lower Auto Insurance Rates

Frozen cell phoneTexting while driving bans are sweeping the nation, and Vermont is the latest state to follow suit, the U.S. Department of Transportation said.

While there have been some opponents to the texting while driving bans, one large reason to support it is the possibility it has for parents to find cheap car insurance for young drivers. In most states, Vermont included, the laws specifically address drivers 18 years old and younger.

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration distracted driving led to 500,000 injuries and around 6,000 deaths in 2008; texting is one of the most dangerous forms of distracted driving. Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood said that these laws make U.S. roads safer. With a decrease in texting-related auto accidents among teens, insurance claims will go down and right along with them may be policy rates.

More than half of the states now have some version of a texting while driving ban. Vermont’s will include a $100 fine for a first-time violation. Teens in the state may also lose their junior operator license or learner’s permit for 30 days.

ADNFCR-3298-ID-19820347-ADNFCR

About John Pirro
John Pirro is a licensed fire and casualty insurance agent specializing in various aspects of the auto insurance industry. He worked in the auto body repair industry before taking a reporting position at Online Auto Insurance News.

No comments yet.

Comment on this article