Penn. Lawmakers to Consider Upping Car Insurance Liability Limits

Car driving down streetA bill introduced to the Pennsylvania State Legislature on Wednesday would double the state-required minimum coverage limits for auto insurance policies in the state.

Currently, a registered vehicle must have insurance that covers at least up to “$15,000 for injury or death of one person in an accident, $30,000 for injury or death of more than one person in an accident, and $5,000 for damage to property of another person,” according to the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation. Those minimum limits would be raised to $30,000, $60,000 and $10,000, respectively.

Pennsylvania motorists who risk driving without liability insurance coverage could have their registration revoked for three months. After the suspension period, a motorist can have their registration returned upon providing proof of insurance and paying a $50 fee.

About Ben Zitney
Benjamin Zitney has been covering the auto insurance industry for the past 2.5 years. Before coming to Online Auto Insurance News, he produced an extensive company history of the 30-year-old California Joint Powers Insurance Authority and worked at the Cal State Long Beach Daily Forty-Niner as a reporter, copy editor and news editor.

No comments yet.

Comment on this article